Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Commission for LGBT+ Communities

About Us

The Commission for LGBT+ Communities is a body appointed to serve as a resource for the Division of Access and Engagement as it works toward creating inclusive learning and work environments. The Commission achieves this through partnerships, monitoring diversity data, and education. The Commission is an organization whose collaboration, communication, and accountability structure works with the Chancellor’s Commissions to create a culture of inclusive excellence.

Grand Challenge for 2023 – 2024 : Engaged allyship

Commission Co-Chairs

woman smiling at camera Ciara Gazaway Program Director, Office of the Dean of Students
Man smiling facing camera Jeremy Mobley Program Director, Division of Student Success

Commission Members

Leia K. Cain
Ashlyn Bryant
Laura Bryant
Lisa Bell
Alexis Bishop
Malachi Frederick
Danielle Johnson

Committee Chairs

Amber Denton (Membership, Sponsorship, and Awards)
Ethan Harrison (Current Issues, Culture, and Community)
Katy Malone (Events and Communication)
Maggie Palmer (Professional Development, Retention, and Wellness)

Application for Membership

This dynamic group works to advance the lives of LGBT students, staff, and faculty on UTK’s campus. We invite you to submit an application next year for a seat at that table. Time commitment is flexible – we meet once a month with the large group and once a month with our committees. Contact Sarah Browning if you have any questions:

If you would like to join our email list to learn more about the upcoming events and announcements, please fill out the CFLGBT+ interest form.

Affiliation with the University(Required)

Are you interested in serving on the LGBT+ committee?(Required)

Give to Access