Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Commission for Women Awards & Scholarships


Notable UT Woman Award

The Commission for Women recognized its first Notable UT Woman in 1995 after a suggestion from then University Historian Dr. Milton Klein that recommended that outstanding women connected with the University be honored on an annual basis. The award has recognized women from four rotating categories: administrator, alumnae, faculty, and staff. Learn more here.

2024 Notable UT Woman Award Winner:

Congratulations to Deborah Welsh.

Rising UT Woman Award

The award recognizes a woman in the early stages of her professional path who has made great strides in her area and shows exceptional promise for future accomplishments. The award is designed to recognize, on a rotation basis, undergraduate students, early career staff (exempt and non-exempt), graduate students, and early career faculty (non-tenure track and tenure-track). Learn more here. 

2024 Rising UT Woman Award Winner:

Congratulations to Maria Martinez.

Angie Warren Perkins Award

The Angie Warren Perkins Award is named for the first Dean of Women at the University. It honors a woman for her excellence in outstanding contributions to University governance or administration at the level of department head, director, or below. Learn more here.

2024 Rising UT Woman Award Winner:

Congratulations to DeLisa Hawkes.

HERS Institutes

The HERS Leadership Institute is a leadership development program for higher ed professionals. In this environment, you will be introduced to new ideas, you will foster mentoring relationships, and you will be prepared for institutional leadership roles. If you are a female faculty member or administrator who has a proven record of professional development and responsibility and an interest in campus administration and the challenges of growing a university, you are encouraged to take a look at the two leadership institute programs to find one that is best suited to your needs. HERS offers both online and in-person options at various times during the year. 

The Commission for Women and The Division of Access and Engagementwill sponsor one outstanding women to attend the Higher Education Resource Services (HERS) Leadership Institute. Learn more and apply here.  

2024 HERS Institutes Winner:

Congratulations to Marcy Jan Souza