Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Commission for Black Communities

About Us

The Commission for Black Communities (CFB) is a body appointed by the Chancellor to advise on planning, implementation, and evaluation of university programs, policies, and services as they relate to Black students, faculty, and staff. The Commission for Black Communities recommends changes in or additions to university policies and procedures to reflect concerns specific to blacks. The group also makes suggestions for new and existing academic and extracurricular programs related to blacks; encourages research to identify the problems and progress of blacks on campus; and encourages black faculty, staff, and student involvement in all aspects of campus life.

Commission Co-Chairs

Donovan Johnson  Assistant Director, UT Success Academy
Marcia Lane Administrative Specialist II, Retail, Hospitality, and Tourism Management

Committee Chairs

Derek Alderman ( (Membership, Sponsorship, and Awards)
Symphany Renee Gillard ( (Current Issues, Culture, and Community)
Caitlin Moore ( (Events and Communication)
Lila Robinson (lrobin51@utk.,edu) (Professional Development, Retention, and Wellness)

Join the Commission

If you are not a member of CFBC and are interested in attending a meeting as a guest or submitting an agenda item, please contact Sarah Browning, Coordinator of the Commissions and Council, at


The Commission for Black Communities meets on the fourth Wednesday of every month from 12:00-1:30 p.m. via Zoom. For more information, contact Sarah Browning at

Grand Challenge

Our three C’s: Celebration, Community, Connection

Celebrating 50 years of the Commission, building community on UT campus and in the Greater Knoxville area, and connecting with other marginalized groups on campus.

Give to Access