Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Fall 2020 Grant Winners Announced

Congratulations to our Fall 2020 grantees! These faculty and staff have received support from the Division of Diversity and Engagement for the following projects:

Wendy Bach, Professor, College of Law, Legal Clinic, forRacial Justice Listening Project.”

Jennifer First, Assistant Professor, College of Social Work for “Identifying dimensions of vulnerability, inequality, and resilience in Black and Latinx communities in Nashville during a recent EF-3 tornado.”

Lettie Flores, Associate Professor, Psychology for “Providing Mental Health Services to Knoxville’s Urbanized Community: Sleeves for Needs Collaboration.”

Guy Harrison, Assistant Professor, Journalism and Electronic Media for “The Experiences of Black Women Newscasters in 2020.”

Larry Perry, Assistant Professor, Religious Studies and Africana Studies for “Race and Inequity in America Podcast with Larry Perry.”

Patricia Rutenberg, Distinguished Lecturer, History for “Establishing a University of Tennessee History Department Internship Program at the Beck Cultural Exchange Center: A Collaboration.”

Misty Bailey, Curriculum and Assessment Coordinator, College of Veterinary Medicine for “A Step Towards Increasing Diversity in Veterinary Medicine – Highlighting Underrepresented Veterinarians Through Photographs.”

Michael Jones, Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine for “Building Diversity in the Veterinary Workforce Through Targeted Recruitment and Engagement with Middle School Aged, Underrepresented Minority Students.”

Holly Mercer, Senior Associate Dean of University Libraries for “A More Representative Oral Record of the Chimney Tops II Wildfires: Documenting Experiences and Impacts in Gatlinburg’s Latinx Community.”

Derrick Stowell, Education and Horticultural Therapy Program Administrator, UT Gardens for “Access to Gardening in Urban settings (AG – U).”

Stefanie Benjamin, Assistant Professor, Retail, Hospitality, and Tourism Management for “Identifying Mega Travel Trends of the Black Traveler.”

Madison Nelski, Outreach Coordinator, FUTURE Postsecondary Education Program for “FUTURE Program Community Outreach Event Series.”

Alexis Niceley, Program Director, Companion Animal Initiative of Tennessee for “Afterschool Animal Club at New Hopewell Elementary School.”

Katherine Page, Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering for “Techshop in a Box Workshop with ORCSGirls.”

Kristin Rearden, Clinical Professor of STEM Education, Theory and Practice in Teacher Education for “It All Starts With A Question: Inspiring Tomorrow’s Scientists and Engineers Through Biographies.”

Emily Sabo, Lecturer of Spanish Studies, Modern Foreign Languages and Literature for “We Are What We Speak.”

Liz Teston, Associate Professor, College of Architecture for “DESIGNHERS: Women in Design Collaborative.”