Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Excellence in Academic Outreach Award

The Excellence in Academic Outreach Award was established to honor tenure-track and tenured faculty who exemplify UT’s land-grant mission by using intellectual capital to benefit the citizens of Tennessee.

The award recognizes extraordinary contributions of faculty to the public that occur as an outgrowth of academic pursuits and are related to the university’s academic mission. Selection is based on demonstrated outstanding contributions to the public stemming from the academic expertise of the nominee and the award is presented annually at the Academic Honors Banquet, which is hosted by the Office of the Provost.

Additional details and the nomination process can be found here.

Past Excellence in Academic Outreach Award Winners:

Jon Shefner

Professor and Department Head; Department of Sociology

More Information

Joy Radice

Associate Professor in the College of Law; Director of Clinical Programs

More Information

Angela Wozencroft

Associate Professor in the Department of Kinesiology, Recreation, and Sports Studies

More Information

Natalie Bumgarner

Associate Professor; Residential and Consumer Horticulture Extension Specialist

More Information

Thomas K. Davis

Professor in the School of Architecture

More Information

Erin Darby

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

More Information

Brad Collett

Executive Director of the Tennessee RiverLine

More Information

Robert Kronick

Professor in the Department of Educational Psychology and Counseling; Director of University Assisted Community Schools

More Information

Rupy Sawhney

Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering; Heath Fellow in Business and Engineering

More Information

Katherine Ambroziak

Associate Professor; Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Research

More Information

Suzanne Lenhart

Professor in the Department of Math; Chancellor’s Professor;

More Information

David A. Patterson

Professor Emeritus of the College of Social Work.

More Information